Skip to Content

Andrew Bastawrous awarded Tällberg-SNF-Eliasson Global Leadership Prize

Andrew Bastawrous stands in a rural Kenyan road with his arms folded and smiling. In front of his photo there is text that reads: "Tällberg-SNF-Eliasson Global Leadership Prize 2023 Winner Andrew Bastawrous. Solving vision impairment and creating better lives."

Peek Vision Co-Founder and CEO, Prof Andrew Bastawrous

Peek Vision Co-Founder and CEO, Prof Andrew Bastawrous, is one of three winners of a global prize for leadership, awarded by the Tällberg Foundation. The prize recognises leadership that is ‘innovative, courageous, dynamic, global in implication and rooted in universal values’.

Andrew was selected for his innovative, systems-based approach to solving avoidable vision loss and improving the lives of people around the world. 

He co-founded Peek with the aim of making the invisible, visible. Over the past decade he has led the development, testing and implementation of a software and data intelligence platform to make eye health services more efficient, effective and equitable. Peek is powering eye health programmes in multiple countries across Africa and Asia, helping partners bring life-changing eye care to the people who need it most. 

Andrew is also Professor in Global Eye Health at the London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine where he teaches on public health, eye health and innovation and leads a research portfolio. In 2018, he co-founded the Vision Catalyst Fund, which is catalysing new resources to bring permanent access to eye health to all those who need it.

Commenting on the Prize, Andrew said:

Thank you to the Tällberg-SNF-Eliasson Jury for this incredible honour. The work I do is never alone, it is with teams and partners who are dedicated, passionate and share a deep commitment to solving a problem that should not exist. Millions of people today are being held back from learning, earning and thriving because they can not see clearly, despite proven, sometimes centuries old, treatments being available. I was one of them – a pair of glasses as a 12 year old changed my life. The recognition through this prize further galvanises our collective efforts to eliminate avoidable vision loss. ”

Headshot of Andrew Bastawrous, smiling. Prof Andrew Bastawrous
Peek Vision Co-Founder and CEO

The other 2023 winners of the Tällberg-SNF-Eliasson Prize are Tristan Harris, for his advocacy efforts to align disruptive technology with humanity’s best interests; and Margaret Lowman, for her scientific, educational and advocacy work to protect and restore forests.

Alan Stoga, chairman of the Tällberg Foundation, said:

These three leaders were selected by a jury of established global leaders who recognized not only what the nominees have already accomplished, but their shared commitment to continue to push the boundaries on what is necessary to make the world a better place. What do bringing vision to the impaired, disrupting disruptive technology and saving forests from the canopies have in common? Great leaders who are focused on outcomes, not processes.”

Headshot of Alan Stoga, smiling. Alan Stoga
Chairman, Tällberg Foundation

This year’s prize winners were chosen from a pool of 2,710 nominated candidates from 149 countries, selected through a several months’ long jury process. The Tällberg-SNF-Eliasson Global Leadership Prize was launched in 2015 and has honoured 27 leaders from across a wide variety of disciplines and countries.

Peek CEO, Andrew Bastawrous, holds up a phone displaying the Peek app vision test with 'tumbling E'. He shows this to a group of men in rural Kenya.

Peek Vision’s CEO, Andrew Bastawrous, awarded an OBE

Read more

Dr Hillary Rono receives prestigious award from leading eye health organisation

Read more
Jeanette McKenna and Marie-Claire Boyle from Peek Vision, positioned second and third from the left, at the Digital Leaders 100 award ceremony, accompanied by event host Alex Boardman and category sponsor Blaise Hamond, in a celebratory and prestigious setting.

Peek Vision Scoops the Digital Leaders SME Award 2023

Read more